In the News

Leadership Southern Maryland 2015 Heritage Award Announced

Regional Leadership Program Recognizes Southern Maryland Regional Hospital Leaders

LEONARDTOWN, Md. – May 27, 2015 – The Leadership Southern Maryland (LSM) Board of Directors announced today that it presented the Heritage Award during LSM’s seventh class graduation ceremony on May 1, 2015, at the Swan Point Yacht and Country Club in Issue, Md. The Heritage Award is LSM’s most prestigious award bestowed annually and, on a rotating basis for Leadership, Service and Mentoring, recognizes individuals, businesses and service organizations for distinguished achievements within the Southern Maryland region. The 2015 Heritage Award focused on Leadership and recognized the following hospital leaders in Southern Maryland:

Noel Cervino, chief executive officer and president, Univ. of Md. Charles Regional Medical Center

Christine R. Wray, president, MedStar St. Mary’s Hospital and MedStar Southern Maryland Hospital Center and senior vice president, MedStar Health

James J. Xinis, former chief executive officer and president, Calvert Health Systems

Leadership Southern Maryland is a nine-month tuition-based program specially designed to develop leaders from the Southern Maryland area for regional collaboration. The LSM program is dedicated to building a cadre of informed regional leaders, prepared to address common issues and bring long-term benefit to their neighbors and communities and incorporates a cross-section of the region to include diversity of geographic location, profession, ethnicity and gender.

For application information, please contact Helen Wernecke, executive director, Leadership Southern Maryland, 240-725-5469 via email or visit


Leadership Southern Maryland is an independent, educational leadership development organization designed to broaden the knowledge base of mid to senior level public and private sector executives about the critical issues, challenges, and opportunities facing the region. Leadership Southern Maryland is a not-for-profit organization.